Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Gula-gula : Halal @ Haram

Kapit- 19 May 2009
Ketika sedang rilex d kedai minum, seorang rakan menunjukkan bekas gula-gula yang mencurigakan..

Gambar menceritakan segalanya....

Sugar Alcohols

Many Muslim consumers has asked us about Halal status of sugar alcohols in Questions and Answers section of our website. We answered them in the above section. So we decided to explain about them in News section of our website. The sugar alcohols are made from plant carbohydrates except Lactitol which can be made from sucrose or whey and all the sugar alcohols are Halal except if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal. There is no ethyl alcohol present in them. Alcohol is just the name because of chemical formulas. FDA recognized sugar alcohols as GRAS(Generally Recognized As Safe). Sugar alcohols are not artificial sweeteners technically and slightly lower in calories compare to sugar. The most important use of them is in chewing gums, sugar free candiaes and cookies because they do not cause tooth decay and good for diabetes because on consuming them the blood sugar will not increase. The most important sugar alcohols are Sorbitol or Glucitol, Xylitol, lLctitol, Mannitol, Maltitol, Erythritol, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates, Isomalt, . No bone char is used in sugar alcohols as compare to sugar. Sugar alcohols are slow fermented carbohydrate than sugar. Sugar alcohols are not fermented by oral bacteria in mouth, this is determind by FDA through McNail company’s research. Sorbitol, Mannitol, Maltitol, Erythritol, and Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates are manufactured from cornstarch. Xylitol is manufactured from corn cobs, sugar cane bagasse, birch wood waste. Lactitol is made from sucrose and whey. When Lactitol is manufactured from sweet whey then we have to be very careful about it. Whey has to be Halal or kosher certified otherwise Lactitol will not be Halal if it is manufactured from sweet whey which is obtained from animal rennet whey. Even if it is obtained from acid whey the starter culture bacteria and starter culture media upon the bacteria grow has to be Halal. If a Halal or kosher symbol appears on a food product package containing Lactitol, it means lactitol is either made from sucrose or Halal or kosher certified whey.


ada sesiapa ada info pasal tok, boleh share...

Thank You...

No comments: